Welcome to Osnabrück


The Varus Battle and the Peace of Westphalia, two major events of world-historical importance, took place in the region that will host the German-speaking Wirtschaftsinformatik community in March 2015. But that’s by far not all Osnabrück and its surrounding area has to offer. The Teutoburger Wald, the Felix Nussbaum Haus and the historic city center, that offers a wide selection of pubs and bars, offer welcome variety with high recreational value.

There are 506,000 people living in the city and its rural district, and time and again studies furnish evidence that these are the happiest people throughout the federal territory. Who would be surprised? Already the painter Felix Nussbaum and the writer Erich Maria Remarque felt quite comfortable in the city of peace. And still today, Osnabrück is the place for many creative artists. In spring 2014, “Waves” of Osnabrück DJ Robin Schulz leads the top of the charts, Heinz Rudolf Kunze teaches at Osnabrück University of applied sciences and Ansgar Brinkmann, the “white Brazilian”, lives in the metropolis of Lower Saxony.

Trees

Those who live and work in Osnabrück cannot but rejoice. The Teutoburger Wald in the south of the rural district offers a quite appealing mountain scenery for leisure activities; whereas the followers of the flat country can find their favorite spot in the plain North. And also the city of Osnabrück has much to offer, for instance, the fine selection of bars, cafés and restaurants that characterize the pleasing cityscape. And while the mainly Protestant residents of Lower Saxony go to work on All Saints’s Day and the Feast of Corpus Christi, the population of North Rhine-Westphalia rejoices the two feasts as public holidays. On these days, the Westphalia truly invade the city for extended shopping sprees using either the car or the WestfalenBahn.

market place

As well as with respect to local employers, Osnabrück is playing right in the front as there are many renowned enterprises with international reputation: Fuchs Gewürze, Coppenrath & Wiese or the fine chocolate manufacturer Leysieffer are well known to gourmets; aquarists around the world and even the famous clownfish Nemo swear by products from Tetra GmbH; every second picture in the world is printed on photographic paper of the Felix Schoeller Group; Madonna and Metallica use the light- and lasershow skills of the Lightline Lasertechnik GmbH; and since 2012, the Porsche Boxter is produced at VW Osnabrück, a production site that already produced the legendary Karmann Ghia in the 50s through 70s. Osnabrück, its county and also the Emsland and the adjacent Oldenburger Münsterland are attractive locations for innovative enterprises with long traditions and best career opportunities for younger people.

door

And you may benefit from all this at comparatively low cost of living! The increasing number of students, who turn Osnabrück with its palace garden into a vivid university city, can to some extent be traced back to that. And also the ideal training opportunities offered by the university and university of applied sciences - welcome and pleasant distractions included - attract school leavers of the entire federal territory.

Not least do soccer fans cheer for the traditional VfL Osnabrück; visitors are warmly welcomed in the four nearby spa towns Bad Iburg, Bad Essen, Bad Rothenfelde and Bad Laer; and you can read the NOZ, the most cited regional newspaper.

To put it in a nutshell, Osnabrück truly is a “feel-good-package”.

But watch out, not so fast! Our city is deemed to be the capital of speed cameras!
 
  • Gold Sponsors


  • Silver Sponsors


  • Bronze Sponsors


  • Promoters


  • Media Partners


  • Industry Partners


  • Network Partners


  • Scientific Partners


Contact

Willkommen in Osnabrück


Varusschlacht und der Westfälische Frieden – Gleich zwei welthistorische Ereignisse fanden in der Region statt, die Anfang März 2015 zum Zentrum der deutschsprachigen Wirtschaftsinformatik wird. Und dies ist nicht das einzige was Osnabrück und das Osnabrücker Land seinen Gästen zu bieten hat. Teutoburger Wald, Felix-Nussbaum Haus und eine historische Altstadt, die zum Kneipenbummel einlädt, bieten Gästen und Einheimischen willkommene Abwechslung und viel Freizeitwert.

Insgesamt 506.000 Menschen leben in Stadt und Landkreis Osnabrück und regelmäßig beweisen Studien, dass diese die glücklichsten im gesamten Bundesgebiet sind. Wen wundert es? In der Friedensstadt fühlten sich bereits der Maler Felix Nussbaum und der Schriftsteller Erich Maria Remarque wohl und auch heute noch ist Osnabrück ein Schaffensort für zahlreiche Kreative. Genau ein Jahr vor der WI 2015 ist der Osnabrücker DJ Robin Schulz mit „Waves“ auf Platz Eins der deutschen Single Charts, Heinz Rudolf Kunze lehrt an der Hochschule Osnabrück und mit Ansgar Brinkmann lebt der „Weiße Brasilianer“ in der Niedersachsenmetropole.

Trees

Wer in Osnabrück lebt und arbeitet, dem bleibt gar nichts anderes übrig, als glücklich zu sein. Im Süden des Osnabrücker Landes bietet der Teutoburger Wald eine attraktive Mittelgebirgslandschaft mit hohem Erholungswert, im Norden kommen die Liebhaber des flachen Landes auf ihre Kosten und in der City prägen Straßencafés und eine attraktive Einkaufsstraße das Stadtbild. Letztere werden gleich zwei Mal pro Jahr von Gästen aus dem nahen Westfalen „überbevölkert“. Während sich in Nordrhein-Westfalen die Bevölkerung an Fronleichnam und Allerheiligen über zwei Feiertage freut und mit Auto oder Westfalenbahn am „Westfalentag“ zum Shoppen nach Osnabrück aufmacht, müssen die Osnabrücker im evangelischen Niedersachsen ihrer Arbeit nachgehen.

market place

Diese verrichten sie bei Unternehmen von Weltruf. Fuchs Gewürze, Coppenrath & Wiese oder die Schokoladenmanufaktur Leysieffer dürften jedem Feinschmecker ein Begriff sein, Fischfreunde in aller Welt und selbst der berühmte Clownfisch Nemo schwören auf Produkte der Tetra GmbH, jedes zweite gedruckte Foto der Welt basiert auf Papier der Felix Schoeller Group, Madonna und Metallica setzen bei ihren Konzerten auf Laserschows der Lightline Lasertechnik GmbH und seit 2012 rollt der Porsche Boxter in Osnabrück von dem Band, von dem in den 50ern bis 70ern schon der legendäre VW Karmann-Ghia rollte. Osnabrück, der Landkreis, auch das Emsland oder das angrenzende Oldenburger Münsterland sind Standorte innovativer Unternehmen, mit langer Tradition und besten Karrierechancen für junge Menschen. Und dies bei Lebenshaltungskosten, die deutlich unter denen deutscher Großstädte liegen.

door

Die günstigen Mietpreise sind auch ein Grund, warum immer mehr Studenten nach Osnabrück ziehen und das Stadtbild rund um den Schlossgarten in eine lebendige Studentenstadt verwandelt. Dabei bieten Uni und Hochschule Osnabrück Schulabgängern aus dem gesamten Bundesgebiet ideale Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten und die Altstadt zahlreiche Kneipen, um sich vom Lernen abzulenken.

Osnabrücker freuen sich über günstige Miet- und Grundstückspreise, haben die einmalige Möglichkeit in der „Wüste“ zu leben und drücken traditionell dem VfL Osnabrück die Daumen. Als Gast warten mit Bad Iburg, Bad Essen, Bad Rothenfelde und Bad Laer gleich vier Kurorte auf sie, sie können Deutschlands meist zitierte Regionalzeitung lesen, aber sollten bei der Fahrt mit dem Auto ein wenig auf das Tempo achten. Osnabrück gilt als Blitzerhauptstadt und Starenkästen finden sich an sämtlichen Einfallstraßen.
 
  • Gold-Sponsoren


  • Silber-Sponsoren


  • Bronze-Sponsoren


  • Förderer


  • Medienpartner


  • Branchenpartner


  • Netzwerkpartner


  • Wissenschaftliche Partner